Saturday Night Blueberries

This summer has been absolutely nuts! Between traveling and masters courses, I’ve barely had time to screw my head on straight, and now the school year has started. I realize I’ve been absent from my blog for a few months, but one of my personal goals is to blog at least once or twice a week. That and practice my trombone more….

Anyway, Hubster and a friend spent most of the day sorting tools and brewing equipment in our basement, so when I got home from my gig this evening, I basically had the house to myself. While cleaning out the fridge, I discovered a pint of blueberries that, although they’d been forgotten, were still pretty good, so I decided to whip up some muffins. Because what else would one do on a stupidly muggy Saturday night in September?

I searched my cookbooks for recipes, I thought the humungous “America’s Test Kitchen” cookbook my parents got me might be worth a shot, since those recipes are supposedly the best of the best. As I read the recipe, though, it got very complex very quickly, so I put it back on the shelf. These are blueberry muffins, for Pete’s sake! One of the most simple of all breakfast foods. So, of course, as always when I want simple and delicious, I turned to good old Betty Crocker, pulling out this nearly 50 year old copy that my mother-in-law got from her mother.

My cooking and baking has been completely transformed ever since I received my KitchenAid stand mixer as a wedding gift.

No more mixing and killing my arms trying to stir thick, heavy batters; just the switch of a lever…

…and everything is blended together. I did have to do a little hand mixing, since the blueberries would have been desimated had I mixed them in the mixer.

400 degrees and 20 minutes later, hot, golden brown, scrumptious smelling muffins. Can’t wait to dig in at breakfast tomorrow (or maybe dessert tonight)!

Blueberry Muffins (ala Betty Crocker)

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 milk
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries (3/4 cup if using frozen)

Preheat oven to 400F. Beat egg. Add milk and oil. Combine dry ingredients and add to wet ingredients. Mix until just combine, mixture should be lumpy. Fold in blueberries. Spoon into greased muffin tins, filling each cup to about 2/3 full. Bake for 20-25 minutes until golden brown.

Leave a Reply

