Presto Pesto

After Hubster and I returned from St. Augustine, I had every intention of just picking up dinner at the local grocery store. Upon arriving at home, though, I realized my herb garden was very much flourishing!

I took this picture I had already trimmed down the basil, but I just couldn’t resist using my fabulous Cuisinart food processor and my abundance of basil to make some pesto. Started with a cup of fresh basil leaves:

What’s pesto without a little garlic, right? The recipe called for three cloves, but after I got a look at the cloves I pulled off my garlic head, I think two was definitely enough.

What I love about the food processor is I don’t have to chop anything. I just throw it all in, press go, and magically it’s all done. I added pine nuts, Parmesan, and three sprigs of parsley, and processed away.

After a few seconds, this beautifully fragrant paste was formed:

With the processor running, I drizzled in olive oil until the sauce pulled together and turned a beautiful, vibrant green.

I put about two or three tablespoons in a bowl and tossed it with some hot penne. I wish you could smell this through the screen: the aroma of basil and garlic when it hits hot pasta is just incomparable. Topped with some pine nuts, cheese, oil, and pepper, we had a fresh, summertime meal that took little to no effort.

Recipe for this delicious pesto is at the bottom.

Did some shopping at the local farmers’ market too and picked up a ton of produce. I hate the over-popularization of meal-prep, but it’ll be so nice to have everything washed and prepped for some yummy salads and meals this week: lettuce mix, carrots, broccoli, snap peas, cucumbers, and red pepper. I also scored one of the final quarts of local strawberries. Yes!

Pesto

  • 1 cup packed fresh basil leaves
  • 2-3 cloves garlic
  • 1/3 cup toasted pine nuts (or walnuts or almonds)
  • 4 tablespoons Parmesan
  • 3 sprigs flat parsley
  • olive oil

Add all ingredients EXCEPT olive oil to food processor. Process until chopped fine and mixed. With processor running, drizzle in olive oil until the sauce comes together and is silky and smooth. Serve over hot pasta topped with more oil, pine nuts, Parmesan, and pepper.

P.S. My parents just got two kittens. How stinking cute are these two????? Charlotte (grey) was on my lap for over an hour, and Clara (calico) was into everything and super curious. Such sweet little girls!

Leave a Reply

